let’s play a game

Here’s the premise: You assume I’m voting for Obama because I’m a musician. A statistically sound assumption, but not a guarantee. I don’t correct you because I want to see where you go with it. You take that as confirmation and continue with: “Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Romney supporter territory.”

Now, let’s play the game. It’s called “word substitution.”

Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Obama supporter territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Republican territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Democrat territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into independent territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into yankee territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into hick territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into retard territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into gay territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into black territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into white territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into fat territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Mexican territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Asian territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Polynesian territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into educated territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into wealthy territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into elderly territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into welfare territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into feminist territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into male territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into farmer territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Catholic territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into atheist territory.
Today, ugh, I have to drive north into Jew territory.

Have I made my point?

Let’s stop clumping people into groups. Because people are not groups, people are individuals. Dismissing a group of people outright based on a single characteristic is the basis of all oppression, in all forms, globally, throughout history. It is this “otherness” that enables you to deal with an entire section of any population without addressing the issue. It ends in slavery. It ends in the Holocaust. So, to my thinking, it’s preferable to not even start down that road. Let’s start dealing with “people” on a personal basis, and judge each by the content of his character, not the color of his skin. Or his religion, or his career, or his voter registration card.

Leave a comment

Filed under this actually happened

Leave a Reply

