of dogs and pinecones

The dogs were being wonderful on their walk tonight, like usual. About halfway along our route Magus picks up a pinecone, as he does. He’s happily carrying it; occasionally I hear a shomp when he readjusts his grip on it. We get back to the house and I look at both dogs to make sure they’re not carrying anything. Magus looks like he is, so I say, “Magus, let go.” Twice. Nothing. So, we go inside.

I have them sit so I can take off their collars and leashes, and I notice Magus is holding something. I cup my hands under his mouth and again tell him to “Let Go.” He drops half the pinecone in my hands. I chuck it outside.

I get them unharnessed and head to the kitchen to wash my hands. I come back into the living room and see a dark thing on the floor, right in front of Magus. Even though I don’t have my glasses on, I know it’s the top of the pinecone. I pick it up and chuck it outside.

I once again head to the kitchen to wash my hands. I’m finally heading to the living room, about to settle onto the couch with my laptop when I step on something wet. Rather, somethings wet. The shattered and crunched remainders of the pinecone, firmly encased in slobber, scattered in a one-foot radius of where I normally sit.

There’s really no point to this story. Just that I had to pick up the same dog’s same slobbery pinecone three times in as many minutes.

1 Comment

Filed under story time, this actually happened

One response to “of dogs and pinecones

  1. Brooks

    Awwww…My dogs made it to your blog! There’s just something about pinecones. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

