what do you do with a no-show singer

If you aren’t familiar with Singer A, the perpetual canceler from this semester, you should read the backstory.

Okay, now that we’re all on the same page:
She had finally given me her lesson time. That very week – the very first lesson I’d be attending – she texted me to cancel.

Singer A: (Feb 10, 12:11) Hey, I don’t think I’m having a lesson today.
Me: (12:14) Okay

No surprise, but it happens. The next week I show up at her lesson. Knock. Try the handle. Nobody home. Shoot off a quick text.

Me: (Feb 17, 14:58) Lesson today?
Singer A: (14:59) Oh sorry, no

The next week I figure I should check beforehand. Good thing, too!

Me: (Feb 24, 10:54) Are you having a lesson today?
Singer A: (11:00) No I’m not

Well this seems to be going well. No lessons, ever. Don’t know how she’s planning to pass a jury. At this point I’m thinking I should probably email her and tell her she should start using my services or I’m dropping her and picking up someone else – one of the several requests I get each week that I’m obliged to turn down because I’m supposedly booked.

One thing leads to another, I’m busy, I don’t write the email. And then yesterday:

Me: (Mar 3, 11:25) Lesson today?
Singer A: (11:26) No ma’am. I don’t think I’m going to have any this semester. I’m sorry

I don’t want to know why. At this point I don’t even care. I don’t have the energy to deal with this. But she will be getting an email requesting payment for January and February.

1 Comment

Filed under adventures in accompanying, this actually happened

One response to “what do you do with a no-show singer

  1. Hells yeah she will! CONTRACT.

Leave a Reply

