state of the semester address

Dear My Body,

I know this is a ridiculous time for you, but it’s a ridiculous time for me too. And, basically, you’re just going to have to not sleep for a few days.

I know, I know. Believe me, I like the idea about as much as you do. Yes, I am putting in 12-hour days and only sleeping six hours. But for the next few days, you’re gonna have to deal with 16-hour days and 4 hours of sleep. I’m already addicted to caffeine, I’m already foggy, and yes, I hear you complaining too. You just don’t want to move, and you’re making my knees ache and seize up like they do when I’m beyond exhausted. But that’s just how it is right now. You should also probably get used to the notion of eating bagels, coffee, and fruit almost exclusively.

Why? Because I have obligations to people. Yes, I have obligations to you, too, but you don’t pay me. They do. And If I don’t do the work they need, they don’t pay me, and you don’t even have the option of eating or having a place to sleep. And if you think I’m not sacrificing anything, let me tell you. I haven’t picked up my reading in a week. I haven’t listened to an album in I can’t tell you how long. And the TV isn’t even on while I’m writing this and eating my dinner grapefruit.

Look, you can threaten me with a migraine all you want, but we both know I’ll just power through it and nobody will be happy. It won’t get us anywhere. You know it and I know it.

So please, just let me get through the next few days, and I will give you all the sleep you want as soon as I can. Heck, I might even give you a day off caffeine. But right now, we’ve gotta get this done. Whaddya say?

Sincerely,

Liz

Leave a comment

Filed under adventures in accompanying

Leave a Reply

