i can do it! i can do it nine times!

After the previous post, I went back and practiced more. I sat down with my metronome and the most difficult passage in the entire program and for the eleventy-zillionth time tried to make it work. It’s the two-page long passage with prime number polyrhythms. So, in 3/4, I’ll have 7 over 4, 9 over 5, 11 over 7, then 7 over 4. Got the LH v. RH polyrhythms no problem, but over 3? Could. Not. Make. It. Work.

So I set my Dr. Beat on the final tempo, but turned off everything but the downbeat. And I played through it probably a million times. And the 11/7 was a note disaster, and then it was too slow, and when it wasn’t, the following 7/4 was too fast, and some of the preceding stuff wasn’t fitting into 3 like it needed to, and so on and so forth.

And then it did. It worked. Everything shifted to the right speeds. I played it again. And again. And again. And again. I couldn’t believe it. For a solid 15 minutes, I just kept repeating it, grinning like an idiot and laughing because it finally worked.

I felt like a little kid! I can’t remember the last time I repeated something over and over just because I could, just for the sheer joy of it. It’s the greatest feeling. These are the moments that make hours and hours locked up in a windowless room worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

